My week went this way

My week started out by having to drive on black ice on my way to Jackson. After I finished working in Jackson I headed for Battle Creek where I to spent the night in a hotel. Tuesday morning was a rush to eat breakfast, check out of the hotel and head for Eaton Corp located in Marshall. We were all sent to learn Decision driving skills. These skills can be used when we operate small cars and trucks. Click on the link to see one of the things we had to learn to control.
http://www.truckingsafety.org/movies/Tape2/upjk1.mpg
Yes I had to jackknife a truck in order to learn how to practice the skills we learned. Truthfully, I hope I never have to use them. I actually drove the truck you will be viewing.
Wednesday was back to normal. Today, in celebration of my birthday, Jackie made one of my favorite dishes, Balkan meatloaf served with white sauce mixed with just a hint of cajan spices. Yum! Yum! How is your week?

4 Comments

  1. Posted January 13, 2007 at 8:33 pm | Permalink

    Happy Birthday, and how fun was it to jackknife that truck?! It’s a controlled environment, where they are willing to teach you how to undo the mess you create, what a great time!
    Oh, yeah, and your birthday is the same as my mom’s.

  2. Posted January 13, 2007 at 10:26 pm | Permalink

    I am glad they only made us watch a video and do classroom work for our defensive driving class….so 39?

  3. beartracks
    Posted January 15, 2007 at 9:08 pm | Permalink

    Everybody was apprehensive about jackknifing the trucks. I asked the instructor what time it was and said I have to get to a hair appointment. Everyone chuckled. to jackknife a truck goes against every grain of sanity (which is not much) I have. It has been a long time since I have driven a truck and I was over revving the engine and was not able to shift properly. That and not having my reading glasses to see the pattern of shift. Sixth gear was all the way to the left and down and I wasn’t use to it so I kept missing sixth gear. I did get to do a 360 degree in a straight truck. We were only traveling at 25 mph so that we could control the jackknife. Yes they did teach us how to get out of a jackknife or better yet preventing one in the first place, by chopping the steering wheel and shuffling your hands by no more than 22 degrees per chop.

  4. Posted January 17, 2007 at 2:25 am | Permalink

    still freakin sweet!!!


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

