How To Forgive

One day a while back, a man, his heart
heavy with grief, was walking in the woods.
As he thought about his life this day, he
knew many things were not right. He
thought about those who had lied about
him back when he had a job.
His thoughts turned to those who had
stolen his things and cheated him.
He remembered family that had passed
on. His mind turned to the illness he had
that no one could cure. His very soul
was filled with anger, resentment and
frustration.
Standing there this day, searching for
answers he could not find, knowing all
else had failed him, he knelt at the base
of an old oak tree to seek the one he
knew would always be there. And with
tears in  his eyes, he prayed:
“Lord- You have done wonderful things for
me in this life. You have told me to do
many things for you, and I happily obeyed.
Tod ay, yo u have told me to forgive. I am
sad, Lord, because I cannot. I don’t know
how. It is not fair Lord. I didn’t deserve
these wrongs that were done against me
and I shouldn’t have to forgive. As perfect
as your way is Lord, this one thing I
cannot do, for I don’t know how to forgive.
My anger is so deep Lord, I fear I may
not hear you, but I pray that you teach me
to do this one thing I cannot do – Teach
me To Forgive.”
As he knelt there in the quiet shade of that
old oak tree, he felt something fall onto his
shoulder. He opened his eyes. Out of the
corner of one eye, he saw something red
on his shirt. He could not turn to see what
it was because where the oak tree had
been was a large square piece of wood in
the ground. He raised his head  and saw
two feet held to the wood with a large spike
through them. He raised his head more,
and tears came to his eyes as he saw
hanging on a cross. H e saw spikes in His
hands, a gash in His side, a  torn sad,and
battered body, deep thorns sunk into His
head. Finally he saw the suffering and
pain on His precious face. As their eyes
met, the man’s  tears turned to sobbing,
and Jesus began to speak.
“Have you ever told a lie?” He asked?
The man answered – “yes, Lord.”
“Have you ever been given too much
change and kept it?”
The man answered – ” yes. Lord.” And
the man sobbed more and more.
“Have you ever taken something from work
that wasn’t yours?” Jesus  asked?
And the man answered – “yes, Lord.”
“Have you ever sworn, using my Father’s
name in vain? ”
The man, crying now, answered – “yes,
Lord.”
As Jesus asked many more times, “Have
you ever”? The man’s crying became
uncontrollable, for he could only answer –
“yes, Lord.”
Then Jesus turned His head from one
side to the other, and the man felt
something fall on his other sho ulder. He
looked and saw that it was the blood of
Jesus. When he looked back up, his
eyes met those of Jesus, and there was
a look of love the man had never seen or
known before.
Jesus said, “I didn’t deserve this either,
but I forgive you.”

It may be hard to see how you’re going to
get through something, but when you look
back in life, you realize how true this
statement is.
When Jesus died on the cross, he was
thinking of you!

4 Comments

  1. Posted February 5, 2007 at 8:34 pm | Permalink

    A wise man once told me:
    We will never be asked to forgive more than we have been forgiven.

  2. Posted February 6, 2007 at 3:53 am | Permalink

    He was indeed a very wise man.

  3. kelly
    Posted February 7, 2007 at 1:57 pm | Permalink

    Wow, very powerful. It is so easy to get caught up in our own pity sometimes. Jesus is the way…let Him be our addiction.

  4. Posted February 8, 2007 at 12:46 am | Permalink

    Nicely said Kelly.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

