Think Spring, Flowers

As someone who has to be outside in this extreme cold winter, I finally broke down and put on my Carhartts.  I have to be outside between 4-5 hours twice a day.  I don’t mind the cold but with the high winds the cold goes right through you.  We are allowed to get in our trucks or go in the building as often as we need to get warm.  When I wear my duckwear I get to hot and sweat and that’s not good.  I need to get another uninsulated pair to stop the wind.  That’s all I really need.

I am truly thankful for the opertunity to learn cold weather survival skills about 4 years ago.  If you get cold being outside here are some absolute neccessities:

Base layer: Polypropalyne-if you are just cold sitting in your office cubile a lightweight pair will suffice.  Right now I wear a midweight and I stay comfortably cool.  YOu don’t want to be warm ot hot and sweat.  This defeats the purpose.

Next layer any non-cotton pants and shirt.  No cotton because it retains moisture.

Next Polar fleece

and lastly a windproof barrier.

Stay warm.

And don’t forget to think Spring and Flowers

3 Comments

  1. Posted February 16, 2007 at 11:36 pm | Permalink

    I moved to Marietta, GA in January 1988 from Columbus, Ohio. I remember being in shock on Feb 16 of that year when I had to make a call in Lagrange, Georgia and the daffodils were blooming. Quite a climate shock. Remember the daffodils…and I will take a cheese quesadilla and a water on the rocks with a double shot of lemon.

  2. Posted February 17, 2007 at 9:47 pm | Permalink

    my daffydills and tulips came up in December…Hope they come back in real spring…

  3. Posted February 20, 2007 at 3:05 am | Permalink

    daffydills and tulips are tough flowers. In grade school, Jackie was daff-a-down-dilly in the school musical.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

