Man’s best friend missing and presumed dead.

cimg0209.JPG

Everyday I would arrive home from work and ask Princess if she wanted to go for a walk. Naturally she would get all excited and jump all over me. So up the drive we walked. We did this for over seven years.

We found Princess nearly 13 years ago, shortly after my daughter was born and she was very protective of Krysten. She was a stray running loose in our old neighborhood. I remember the day well. I had been working at a job site in Maybe, MI and decided to take some back roads home, as I pulled in the drive Jackie was holding this scrouny very hungry dog. Jackie looked at me and said should we keep her? Perhaps she may have gotten out from a neighbors home, so I spent the next several weeks walking the dog all around our community asking if anyone knew who owned this beautiful dog to all the neighbors. No one knew where she had came from so we adopted her. She was a Shih-tsu and she always sat up like she owned the place so we named her Princess. We figured Princess to be about 1 year old. She was full of life and energy and a very good pet too our children.

At age 14 she was slowing down. She could barley climb up the stairs. We knew it was only a matter of time before she would die and had mentioned the possibility of putting her down. We had some good family discussions about caring for those God puts in our lives. I wanted to convey that you don’t just put people or animals away or in homes because they become a burden. On Friday I came home from work and noticed Princess already walking up the drive. I drove the rest of the way home and had to drop off some papers in the house and then I called for Princess to go for a walk. I had anticipated she would return for me so we could go for our daily walk to get the mail. She didn’t come when I called, so I though she might be waiting for me at the top of the driveway. I did not find her anywhere.

My heart was crushed at the thought that she knew it was her time as she headed off to parts unknown to die. She never returned. Princess will forever be in our hearts. We miss her, already.

It’s been a sad weekend having to deal with teary eyes, but we also did not want her to suffer any longer for our sake.

So long Princess, Thanks for the memories.

4 Comments

  1. Posted February 25, 2007 at 12:59 pm | Permalink

    Our pets give so much love to us that it is hard when we lose them , and I hope your memories of princess help you through

  2. Posted February 25, 2007 at 3:09 pm | Permalink

    Pets become family and it can difficult to deal with loss of that special family member. Cherish those memories of Princess and thank you for sharing her with us.

  3. Posted February 26, 2007 at 4:41 pm | Permalink

    Thanks, we are still going through sadness of the loss of Princess. Each day it gets a little easier. It helps knowing we have friends who care.

  4. Posted February 26, 2007 at 9:27 pm | Permalink

    AWW…sorry for your loss.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

