Is Candid Camera around?

Today was a crazy day. While working on a job site in Detroit, I had just returned some product when the olfactory senses kicked in and smelled smoke. I quickly turned around and scanned the vicinity. Spotting a car on fire, I dialed 911 and gave the location of the car on fire. I ensured the occupants got out safely and i returned to work. As I exited my truck, another truck pulled up wanting me to buy a $1300 Toshiba laptop for $250. I said no thanks. How about $200, then? No I don’t have that kind of money. All the while I was wondering if the $60 would buy a $1300 computer. I would not have purchased it figuring any deal which appears to be a good deal is probably not. The computer was still wrapped up in bubble wrap and had the stores price tags on it so it was probably stolen. After the man took off I went inside the building and there were 4 police officers. I told them about what happened and one of the officers replied “you’ll have to file a report.” I’m thinking to myself, didn’t I just do that. I leave shaking my head.

Some more time passes and I had to go inside again to speak with the owner and manager of the facility. Afterwards, I head back to my truck. A middle aged woman was standing between my company truck and her van which was not very far from my truck. A red flag went up and sure enough she says I backed into your truck. There was no sign of damage anywhere, but I have to file a report with my company. I took some photos to as evidence there was no damage. She kept trying to get me not to file a report but I have to report it. As I get on the phone she gets in her van and drives away so I snapped a photo of her license and type of van. We have to file a report as there are to many scam artists out there looking for easy money. I didn’t want to file a report and I may not have if I had my own personal vehicle.

So, I ask is Candid Camera around?

5 Comments

  1. Posted April 4, 2007 at 1:46 pm | Permalink

    Wow. What a day.

    the ghost of Alan Funt is chuckling right now.

  2. Posted April 4, 2007 at 2:31 pm | Permalink

    That was some story(ies)!!! I hope today is less exciting, because I can’t imagine what would top of yesterday!!!

  3. Posted April 4, 2007 at 5:13 pm | Permalink

    Nope, Candid Camera couldn’t have been at your house, because they were at mine.

    Some days are like that, aren’t they? Aren’t you glad we don’t have to file a report every time we want to chat with God? I loved this post!

  4. Posted April 5, 2007 at 8:55 pm | Permalink

    would you like to buy a watch, I got a genuine Rollex right here, or maybe you prefer a Tag Hower?

  5. Posted July 8, 2007 at 1:33 am | Permalink

    At least your luck was better than this California man, who, in a series of unrelated events, got hit by a car on Sunday, mugged on Monday, and shot on Tuesday.

    Where is candid Camera when you need them?

    –Jack Payne
    http://www.sixhrs.com


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

