He wants permission to do what…

Dean, our 16 year old son wanted to visit his girlfriend, so far no problem then he asks if he could spend the night…..I DON’T THINK SO was our reply.  Then came the argument “why do you always have to follow society’s rules?  Why don’t you follow your own rules?”    Okay, my wife said and said NO!! and thats my decision.  The arguments continued Krysten has her girlfriends sleepover and she spends the night over at her girlfriends why can’t I do the same?  Because we don’t want little Deans!  Nothings going to happen, he retorts.  Exactly, nothings going to happen because you are not allowed to sleepover at friends of the opposite sex.

Boundaries were set long ago but they sure get challenged each and every day.

Hhmm, maybe we could sell him on Ebay,  just a thought.

\o/ Praizes

3 Comments

  1. wansson
    Posted June 15, 2007 at 10:40 pm | Permalink

    Hi, I’m a girl at 16, and this post just got me thinking, I’m from Sweden and yeah it took a while before i could spend the night at my boyfriends place, but hey what is all the fuss about? sleeping over is never the same thing as having sex. and sex isn’t the most important thing about a sleepover. I think the most inportant thing about a sleepover with your boy/girlfriend is to se how the person looks without makeup and fixed hair. =) And it isn’t exaktly as if teenagers can’t have sex at daytime hey?! 😛 just a thought…

  2. Posted June 20, 2007 at 7:43 pm | Permalink

    Welcome Wansson, thank you for your comment. As a parent I along with my wife want to raise our children the best as we can. We believe that one should not place themselves in situations where you can be tempted. This is our responsibility as parents. Not every parent esteems the same values. Children’s hormones run on over time at the age of 16 and earlier. I know from experience. During this stage of life we as parents want to guide our kids towards making the right decisions. When my wife and I were dating each other our parents had strict rules. One of those rules was to not place ourselves in a home unsupervised. We didn’t always like the rules but it kept us pure and we respected them.

  3. ravikumar
    Posted November 5, 2008 at 9:52 pm | Permalink

    cool


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

