Mike Rowe, host of Discovery Channel’s “Dirty Jobs,” came to Michigan

Mike Rowe, host of Discovery Channel’s “Dirty Jobs,” comes to northern Michigan on Friday, May 25
May 18, 2007 — As the 2007 Memorial Day holiday weekend begins, Mike Rowe, host of the Discovery Channel’s “Dirty Jobs” (and his crew) will hit the road to tour the Mackinac Bridge on May 25. The filming project will highlight the daunting work bridge maintenance crews perform each year on the structure. Mackinac Bridge Authority (MBA) officials announced the project is a unique opportunity to showcase the significant work done in Michigan on the landmark structure known as the “Mighty Mac.”

“Our crews take an incredible amount of pride in what they do,” said MBA Administrator Bob Sweeney. “I would describe our maintenance activities as daunting or difficult, as opposed to dirty. But, it takes a special person to meet the challenges of the job. Our crews are preserving the integrity of the bridge. They are the reason it will be here at least another 50 years.”

The Discovery Channel program is expected to focus on a cable painting project above the Straits, and/or preventive maintenance inside one of the tower cells. Additionally, aerial shots will be necessary.

“A helicopter will be used to capture some unique angles of our crews at work,” said MBA Board Chairman William Gnodtke. “However, it will be done in a safe and secure manner. Motorists will probably not even notice the filming project is going on as they cross the bridge.”

MBA officials have ensured that the Department of Homeland Security, United States Coast Guard, and other law enforcement officials have been properly notified of the planned event.

“One of the reasons for our announcement is to inform people in advance of the project that they have nothing to worry about. The safety and security of everyone remains a top priority for us,” added MBA Chief Engineer Kim Nowack. “This opportunity will gain national exposure for our employees and will showcase the awesome work they do that often goes unnoticed.”

1957-2007: The Mighty Mac – Linking Michigan’s Peninsulas for 50 years

5 Comments

  1. Posted March 10, 2013 at 4:52 am | Permalink

    Spot on with this write-up, I honestly feel this
    web site needs far more attention. I’ll probably be back again to read more, thanks for the advice!

  2. Posted March 11, 2013 at 9:47 pm | Permalink

    I love your blog.. very nice colors & theme. Did you design this website yourself or did you hire someone
    to do it for you? Plz reply as I’m looking to construct my own blog and would like to find out where u got this from. thank you

  3. Posted March 19, 2013 at 5:36 pm | Permalink

    Greetings from Colorado! I’m bored to tears at work so I decided to browse your blog on my iphone during lunch break. I love the information you present here and can’t wait to
    take a look when I get home. I’m surprised at how fast your blog loaded on my cell phone .. I’m not even using WIFI,
    just 3G .. Anyways, superb blog!

  4. Posted April 14, 2013 at 1:37 pm | Permalink

    I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own weblog and was curious what all is required to get set up? I’m assuming
    having a blog like yours would cost a pretty penny?
    I’m not very web smart so I’m not 100% certain. Any recommendations or advice would be greatly appreciated. Thank you

  5. Posted April 30, 2013 at 3:21 am | Permalink

    Overall, a smoothly operating digestive system is very healthy for the body.
    Another indication that it is ready is that the sponge will shrink slightly from the sides of the tin.
    If you’re anything like me and you have a spot of bother nodding off a night, try a cup of Chamomile tea which has a natural sedative.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

