Magic Jack

Kiss monthly phone bills goodbye!

 

 

 

http://www.magicjack.com/site/index.html

Watch CNBC report

Cost $39.95 includes first year of service, $19.95 each year after.

magicIn

Each magicJack includes a free phone number from one of many metropolitan areas around the country. This number can receive free incoming calls from around the world.

 

 

 

magicOut

All US/Canada calls are free when using your magicJack. You can use your magicJack at home or at your business.

 

 

 

Free Local & Long Distance Calling

USA and Canada – You can use magicOut at home or at your business for free local and long distance calls.

 

 

 

Free International Calling

Take the magicJack with you when you travel to other countries. Call back to the U.S. and Canada for FREE. Use the magicJack anywhere you find high speed internet service.

You may find that your greatest savings are where you call another country to the US or Canada for FREE. Just make sure that your travel destinations have high speed internet access
available. Most locations of Embassy Suites, Hampton, Hilton, Holiday Inn offer FREE internet access.

 

 

 

Free Voice Mail

Simply install your magicJack and follow these directions:

  • From your phone (that is plugged into your magicJack) dial your own number.
    -OR-
    Click the Voice Mail button on your Softphone (the phone displayed on your computer screen).
  • When you hear a voice, press the Star Key (star) key.
  • When prompted, dial the default password 1234 on your phone or Softphone.
    Please change your password once you’ve accessed your account.
  • Follow the prompts to personalize your options.

 

 

 

Free Call Waiting

Use the flash button on your telephone to toggle between calls. (If phone does not have a flash button just tap the button you normally use to “hang up” your phone.

You can also use your computer mouse to toggle between calls by clicking on the number you choose.

 

 

 

Three Way Calling

This feature is available when you have 2 inbound calls.

  • Press Star Key + Star Key when you have 2 inbound calls to merge them.
  • Pressing Star Key + Star Key will to put both calls on hold. Now press the flash button on your phone to speak with only to the original first caller -OR- with your mouse pointer click on the number you wish to talk to on the softphone display.

 

 

Enhanced 911 Service

Each magicJack also includes 911 emergency telephone service for U.S. users. Dialing 911:

  • is FREE and available anywhere in the United States and easy to activate when you plug in your magicJack.
  • requires prior activation on your part by supplying your correct service address and updating your address if you use it at an alternate location.
  • will NOT function during a broadband or power disruption/outage, or if the magicJack is damaged or disabled. For these reasons, you should maintain an alternate means of dialing 911 and inform all users of your magicJack.

 

 

Portable Contact List and Call Logs

Create and store a copy of your contact list on your magicJack and take it with you for use on any computer. Your contact list, along with your call logs will be saved securely on your magicJack. (Contact list and call logs can be accessed without an Internet connection)

We are working on a Mac version and it will be available shortly. You can use your magicJack with a PC now and upgrade the same magicJack to Mac, once we have it available.

88 Comments

  1. Posted October 27, 2007 at 7:05 pm | Permalink

    I bought a Magic to test and write a review but the review has turned into an explse. It does not work as advertiased. The number they give you is just an unused number that doesn’t belong to thme. They have no way to give you a legitimate number. It can, through some trick, call out using the unused number but that’s all and I don’t expect that to last long.
    My review is at:http://www.thumpnet.com/P2/mjack.html and I expect them to fold their tent and be gone by November 15th.

    Thump

  2. Posted October 29, 2007 at 3:32 pm | Permalink

    You may have an issue with your firewall. I did have a problem getting it to work but when I temporarily disabled my firewall it worked. I have since corrected the settings in my firewall and now it works great. every once in a while a noticeable hiccup is detected but that may be attributed to the high latency delays I am receiving from my ISP, regretfully, I will no longer have by the end of next month.

  3. Posted October 29, 2007 at 11:35 pm | Permalink

    how do you turn off voice mail?? does not let calls come through, sends them all to voicemail

  4. Posted October 30, 2007 at 3:55 am | Permalink

    Go to menu and check if you have “Do not disturb” selected.

  5. Pablo A. Arce
    Posted November 2, 2007 at 5:35 pm | Permalink

    I NEVER got to use it…and they WILL NEVER answer the e-mail that I sent them. Now it happens that they do not even have a telephone number where I can call and get the assistance….it looks like I just wasted my money
    P.S.: I tried to use it overseas and I DOES NOT WORK THERE EITHER

  6. Thump
    Posted November 2, 2007 at 6:09 pm | Permalink

    In regard to my earlier post, the only reason I couln’t ring my number was that I was using AT&T Callvantage and their switchboard refused to dial it, maybe because it’s a competitor. Calls from other sources seem to work just fine and the voice quality is excellent. I regreat I made a complaint.

    Thump

  7. buzz123
    Posted November 8, 2007 at 7:47 pm | Permalink

    I saw this as a news item on KYW-3 in Phila last nite… Sounded interesting… Nov 15 is fast approaching… think they will be around a while??

  8. Posted November 8, 2007 at 9:48 pm | Permalink

    It’s giving Skype a runn for their money, let alone AT&T, Verizon, GTE, etc

  9. Junior
    Posted December 9, 2007 at 7:54 pm | Permalink

    have you heard if you can port a conventional land line number to replace the number magic jack issues the customer?

  10. Posted December 11, 2007 at 1:45 am | Permalink

    They say its coming by year end.

  11. Jill
    Posted April 22, 2008 at 6:47 pm | Permalink

    Magic Jack is not as advertised. I currently use Vonage, but thought i would give it a shot to save some money. MJ sound quality is not as good, voices are not as loud as with V. MJ will not call some phone numbers. There a few local numbers I call regularly, just regular numbers, but MJ won’t connect to them, V will connect. They all have the same first 3 digits (not area code) so I think it is glitch. I tried thier “tech” support. It was non tech people reading out of a manual, not unlike the “try this” list on the website. After hours of attempts, no one wanted to fix the problem. I returned the device. Don’t reccommend.

  12. Posted April 22, 2008 at 10:01 pm | Permalink

    Jill I have never experienced any of the problems you discribed. I have had a short variance in sound quality but thats it. This might be my internet connection and not MJ. I am hard of hearing but I have to turn the volume down.

  13. Posted April 23, 2008 at 9:05 am | Permalink

    DONT BUY THIS BS(Magic Jack Crap)PRODUCT.

    It worked fine for me for about 3 Months and now It Was working fine for about 2 months then Certin numbers it gives me Busy Signal 3 times then it hangs up. You can not call them u only have to use their CHAT online. After talking to them for over 2 hours of uninstalling, Reinstalling, Cleaning the Registry, Rebooting, Trying on another PC Nothing worked. I do recive calls, i can make call to certin number but alot of LOCAL number dont work. According to Magic Jack I am Dialing the Wrong number??and maybe the other party is using the phone bull.

    I checked online and saw other people had the same problems.

  14. Lander
    Posted April 24, 2008 at 2:52 am | Permalink

    I think MJ is just like Vonage when they first come out, it will not work for a long time, but as the time goes by, it will probably get better..and mostly it depends on the other regular phone carriers. Those giants (ATT, MCI/WORLD COMM, SPRINT) will play hard ball on this new tech. Just wait until it gets better..a indication of that would be the phone companies dropping their prices.

  15. Posted April 29, 2008 at 6:21 pm | Permalink

    I received mine on Saturday and installed it on a Vista laptop and an XP desktop. I have used for 4 days. I do have problems with incoming and accessing voice mail. I did read that they are upgrading their voice mail servers. I got it for having to sit on conference calls and long company meetings when I am working from home.

    I do not have a land line and I did not want to burn cell minutes.

    I currently have it connected to the XP desktop that is always on. The phone I am using is one of these that is corded and has a remote hand set that plugs into an electrical outlet. both phones work great.

    Yes, there is some latency and some static. This is more noticeable when calling a cell phone.

    Overall this is a young company with a young product. I believe things will just get better.

  16. Posted May 1, 2008 at 4:30 am | Permalink

    i RECEWNTLY PURCHASED A MJ. THIS LITTLE DEVICE IS SO AWSOME THAT I RECOMMENDED IT TO MOST OF MY FAMILY AND NOW WE ALL TALK ACROSS AMERICA, BACK AND FORTH, FOR FREE. WE HAVE SINCE DROPPED OUR LAND LINE SERVICE, SINCE WE HAVE CELLPHONES AND MJ IS LIKE A POCKET LANDLINE. I AM VERY PLEASED WITH THE SERVICE, SOUND QUALITY AND EASE OF USE. THE INFOMERCIALS I SAW MADE ME, AT FIRST, THINK THAT THIS THING WAS JUST ANOTHER SCAM, BUT MY INTUITION TOLD ME TO GIVE THE INITIAL 30 DAY TRIAL A TRY. I AM PLEASED THAT I DID AND I RECOMMEND MJ TO ANY AND EVERYBODY THAT IS TIRED OF GETTING TAKEN BY THE BIG TELEPHONE COMPANIES.

  17. Posted May 1, 2008 at 4:36 pm | Permalink

    Hey Theo, MJ owns the software that Skype uses in their program. Thanks for the comment.

  18. Line-Tech Inc.
    Posted May 10, 2008 at 5:24 pm | Permalink

    Be advised: This device works as described & it’s very reliable. If you are having problems it is either your PC configuration (virus, firewall etc.) or your internet provider (call them but they usually play dumb (or really are?). My neighbor said his wouldn’t work. I changed a setting on his firewall & now working perfect. Keep in mind, if they provided live tech support for all the “PC Challenged”, they could never afford to offer these GREAT prices. Audio quality is as good as most VOIP… but a tad less than (conventional) land-lines. Most won’t notice a difference. Overall, a great product at a great price! Highly recommend (and that’s from an audio engineer’s point of view).

  19. Posted May 12, 2008 at 6:31 pm | Permalink

    Yes, depending on the firewall you may have to adjust a setting to allow MJ to work better. I initionally had this issue until I learned that the reason I was having problems was due to a firewall setting.

  20. steve
    Posted May 12, 2008 at 10:43 pm | Permalink

    Hi there,
    from doing all my homework before purchasing ths product, i was wondernig if anyone knows two things i’m curious about..

    1) is there a website or someone i can call where i can check if my areas local numbers are serviced yet, Victoria, BC, Canada, or do i need to use a US line still at this point? and..

    2) I see a lot of references to adjusting a firewall setting in lots of blogs, forums etc.. but no one has mentioned what setting, is it simply a setting to just allow the use of the program, or something a little more complex?

    thanx

  21. Posted May 12, 2008 at 11:21 pm | Permalink

    When I installed my MJ I saw area codes for Ontario, but I didb’t check for any other province.

    You may have to ask your question here:
    http://www.magicjack.com/techchat/

    Depends on your FW. All I needed to do was change one setting to ask and the firewall did the rest.

  22. steve
    Posted May 14, 2008 at 12:36 am | Permalink

    just to update, i talked to the techs at http://www.magicjack.com/techchat/ and they said that they have no area codes in Canada at this point (May 13,2008) and that their engineers are working on it.

    They couldn’t give me any kind of approximate date so I’m assuming quite some time. They mentioned to keep checking back at http://www.magicjack.com/1/areacodes.asp

    They also mentioned for purchasing if I was interested that the Canadian site is a different URL from http://magicjack.com it is… http://www.themagicjack.ca/

    anyways, thanx for your help on this, I’ll check back for area codes later in the year, seems like a good product just not available yet for my area code.

  23. Posted May 14, 2008 at 1:17 am | Permalink

    Glad to help.

  24. ritterrific
    Posted May 21, 2008 at 1:43 pm | Permalink

    Has anyone tried plugging this into an xbox 360 USB port? I haven’t received the one I ordered yet so I may be disappointed. My intention is to give it to my son so he has a private line in his room. The xbox 360 is technically a computer and has USB, so theoretically it will work. If no one has experience with this, I will post my experience after I try it.

  25. Posted May 23, 2008 at 3:33 am | Permalink

    I do not have an Xbox to try it. If Xbox runs on Windows platform in theory it could work. I’ve been wondering if I use a USB router if it would work. Like a print server. This could allow multiple users to access

  26. speedo
    Posted May 25, 2008 at 4:55 pm | Permalink

    If your a computer geek that sits at home in your parents basement playing video games all day Magic Jack will probably work fine for you. If you actually need a phone that works prepare to be disappointed.
    The technology that runs MJ is good but it depends almost entirely on the quality of your internet connection and it DOES NOT offer the same dependability as POTS(plain old telephone service).
    While it should be obvious, many people still don’t understand that MJ WILL NOT work with a dial up connection.Most people also have multiple phones in their homes. MJ only allows you to hook up one.
    Regular analog phone lines work even when the power goes out. MJ does not.
    The tech support with MJ is terrible. They don’t employ field techs or even offer phone support so issues can ONLY be resolved by online chat.
    Fax machines don’t work well, if at all, with MJ.
    If your internet goes down so does your phone. A good internet connection doesn’t mean good phone service. Most issues with this type of service are ISP related. Your ISP DOES NOT care if your MJ is working or not.
    Internet speed varies depending on numerous factors because of that your call quality will also vary. Your MJ might be fine now but in 15 minutes it may not work at all.
    The question with MJ is not if you’ll have problems but when.

    Basically if cost is your only driving force and your tech savvy, don’t mind questionable service and have hours to spend getting things to work right, use MJ. Otherwise stick with POTS.
    MagicJack WILL NOT be around in a year. Atleast not at the current rates. They will substantially raise their price or go out of business. Do the math. It won’t work. Its just one on a long list of companies that has offered this type of service and then in a short time ceased to exist.

  27. Posted May 25, 2008 at 11:25 pm | Permalink

    Speedo, MJ is very dependable and very good QOS, quality of service. I had no problem dealing with tech support, in fact they corrected a problem I has when I first recieved MJ. Sure you have to use chat but IM is how thing are done in this century. I think MJ will be around for a lot longer than you think!

  28. peopleperson
    Posted May 28, 2008 at 12:15 pm | Permalink

    I don’t know about this magic jack. I know a few people who spent hours talking about one thing and all the tech support said was….”I understand, but what is the main issue?” after an hour of chatting with two people.

  29. peopleperson
    Posted May 28, 2008 at 12:18 pm | Permalink

    P.S

    I ordered mine and if it works out well then I’m dropping vonage.

  30. Posted May 28, 2008 at 11:48 pm | Permalink

    Good for you. Welcome to the club.

  31. speedo
    Posted May 29, 2008 at 5:41 am | Permalink

    Let me clarify a few things. I probably sounded a little harsher about MagicJack than I intended.I just want people to understand that VOIP service, wich is what MagicJack is, is not comparable to your standard phone service in a lot of ways. If you use MJ primarily for outbound calls and you have a good dependable,fast, internet connection you may never notice any problems with MJ. However, If you expect it to be just like standard phone service,its not for the reasons I stated above.
    As far as peopleperson switching from Vonage to MJ, do it. If your happy with the way Vonage works then you’ll almost definitely like MJ.
    One more point,Beartracks, you are right IM is the way a lot of things are done “this century” and therein lies the problem.I personally will never do business with a company that ONLY communicates through IM again.
    Regardless of my opinion on that, the problem with MJ and any other VOIP service is that they don’t control the internet connection that you rely on for good QOS. The VOIP service itself is great but no matter how good it is it won’t work over a lousy internet connection.
    The best way to determine if your connection is sufficient is to run a ping test on your ISPs server.You should be able to run it indefinitely without it timing out. The time also shouldn’t vary to much. If it does you’ll probably have phone issues.
    The other thing to do is run a test for packet loss. If you have ANY packet loss at all you WILL have phone issues. At that point I wouldn’t even consider MJ.
    Anyway, you know what they say about people and their opinions.Theres mine.

  32. Posted May 29, 2008 at 11:02 pm | Permalink

    Thaks for clarifying. You have addressed some of the concerns which affect all VOIP’s. There are a few settings which can be made if you are experiencing loss packets, but you would need to communicate these concerns to your ISP.

  33. Posted May 31, 2008 at 3:05 am | Permalink

    Here is a website for checking your VOIP connection:

    http://myvoipspeed.visualware.com/ to check your QOS and packet loss for your connection.

    Click at a location located on the map.

  34. Marie Knight
    Posted June 5, 2008 at 12:11 pm | Permalink

    I ordered magic jack but decided I didn’t want it so sent it back. Now I don’t know why but they charged my account. I want a refund but cannot find anyway to contact them. They say on there web site you can get a live chat but that’s not true. There is NO LIVE CHAT..There is no way to contact these people. I want my money back, I sent this thing back in time they should never have charged my credit card. What can I do?

  35. Posted June 5, 2008 at 10:09 pm | Permalink

    Here are some options:
    Check your credit card statement to see if there is a phone number with the transaction. If not
    Call your credit card company and dispute the amount. Let the credit card company do the heavy work.
    Once its in dispute you can deduct the amount of the charge from your bill.
    As a last resort contact your state Attorney General.
    Hope this helps.

  36. susan
    Posted June 26, 2008 at 10:49 pm | Permalink

    Hello,

    I never received my magicjack. I got through once to livechat and they told me to check with post office even though they confirmed they sent it to the wrong address. Now when I click on live chat for billing/ordering I get a page error, syntax error. I can not get through to them . any sugguestions?

  37. Posted June 27, 2008 at 1:02 am | Permalink

    Check your credit card statement to see if there is a phone number with the transaction. If not
    Call your credit card company and dispute the amount. Let the credit card company do the heavy work.
    Once its in dispute you can deduct the amount of the charge from your bill.
    As a last resort contact your state Attorney General.
    Hope this helps.

  38. Posted June 28, 2008 at 9:51 pm | Permalink

    Just hooked up my new mj. Worked ok for 2 days then sometimes wont dial a number. Also makes font go huge on desktop. Does anyone know if these problems are being caused by our Linsky Vonage router? Still running on the same computer.

  39. Posted June 29, 2008 at 1:14 am | Permalink

    There may be an incompatibility issue between the two. Disable Vonage and see if the issue is fixed. Also try running the MJ fix. Hope this works. Let me know.

  40. Sarge
    Posted July 21, 2008 at 4:29 pm | Permalink

    ok eventhough i saw all these -ve posts i went ahead and got this thing.

    I have been using it for 3 weeks now without any issues.

    +ve points:
    Cheap. I dont think it will get any cheaper.
    clearer than some other VOIP providers

    -ve points:
    laptop needs to be online always
    crackles once in a while
    you dont need tech knoweldge to operate this device but you do need some knoweldge to operate a PC/notebook

    all said and done, i like this thing. for $20 a year i dont mind if it crackels a bit or if i have to leave my laptop online always. its always online anyway.

    about the comment above that says the number they give is not legitimate, well, i think it is because the owner of MJ owns his own telephony service.

    hell i spend $20 on b’fast and lunch a day.

  41. Sarge
    Posted July 21, 2008 at 4:30 pm | Permalink

    forgot to mention :

    they charged my card instantly and not after 30 days like they claim.

  42. Posted July 24, 2008 at 8:25 am | Permalink

    We just got rid of our land line. Try running MagicFix to correct any issues you may be having. Mosat issues will be corrected. I have contacted MJ via an email address I have but I will not post here on this forum. I left a message pointing out there have been several issues which need to be addressed. Most issues have already been addressed in the help forum listed on MJ website. Still there are some issues which are caused by the ISP and not the fault of MJ.

  43. Posted August 30, 2008 at 2:02 am | Permalink

    For further help see
    Vista customers download the fix
    http://www.magicjack.com/9/customercare.asp

  44. devin
    Posted August 30, 2008 at 6:05 am | Permalink

    I read all these posts and was skeptical about buying this. It seems to good to be true. Here in ND they don’t have numbers yet but I got it anyway. Cableone sells service for $30 a month, so I said I’ll try it. I’m a+ certified and very computer savvy. It works better then my $60 a month Verizon phone. Clarity is better then Verizon and all calls go through.I have seen so many morons post it doesn’t work and then repost their own user errors. 2 years service cost the same as one month of Verizon. Plus Verizon is a scam, they constantly charge you for “data” or sms messages for their billing. 30c isn’t a lot until you add up 100,000,000 customers!

  45. Posted August 30, 2008 at 1:40 pm | Permalink

    Glad you got a MJ. I’ve had mine for a year. We just got rid of our Verizon landline and will be signing up for a longer duration with MJ. I upgraded my pc a few months back to Vista and was not able to connect even though MJ installed the VIsta only. My sons gf lives outside the USA and uses MJ extensively to talk with her. Anyway it worked great with XP. My son said I needed to update the Vista s/w. I did and retride MJ with no problems. I live in the country and use a wireless ISP. I originally had internet speed of 5 Mps ul/dl but this year the company needed more bandwidth and lowered the speed to 2 Mps dl and 768 Bps ul. Anyway MJ still works at the slower speed.

  46. Angela Chelson
    Posted September 11, 2008 at 6:01 pm | Permalink

    Hello,

    It’s been some months now since the release of the Magic Jack service that everyone has been waiting for (March/April). I have to say that now It appears the company might be growing in the wrong direction. Their customer service has been proven to avoid any questions relating how to return the device under their 30 Day Trail period. I would expect a company to uphold their own policies.

    It’s true that you get what you pay for. You are a cattle if you believe anything else. The Magic Jack service would be beneficial to anyone who does not rely on when their phone service works.

    There are plenty of websites out there that go into these details. I would recommend that anyone who currently owns the Magic Jack, or plans on going for the “magical” 30 Day Trail do some research at the very minimum.

    Here is an example that might point the people effected into the right direction:

    Magic Jack Review Article

    If your a person where it’s not a big deal if your service is disrupted once and awhile, this might be a great investment for you. It all depends what you want Magic Jack to do for you, and what your expectations are. You always have to consider the worst case scenario when thinking about these kinds of things. Hopefully someone will read this and make the right decision for themselves. 🙂

    Regards,

  47. Posted September 19, 2008 at 6:42 pm | Permalink

    Faxing with MJ update.
    I have used MJ to fax on a couple ocassions with no problems. I have Windows Vista and since I updated the software I have not had any problem with dialing out. Hope this helps.

  48. Posted September 19, 2008 at 9:26 pm | Permalink

    I just extended my MJ license for four years.

  49. Posted September 20, 2008 at 9:48 pm | Permalink

    Here is a link for direct chat Link for MJ.

  50. Posted September 26, 2008 at 7:38 pm | Permalink

    As of August 11, 2008 will we now be offeringCanadian Local Phone Numbers that can be forwarded to your USA Magic Jack phone number for a yearly fee of $99.99

    LOCAL NUMBERS NOW AVAILABLE

    (604) Abbotsford, (905) Brampton, (289) Burlington, (403) Calgary,
    (403) Canmore, (780) Edmonton, (780) Fort McMurray, (780) Grand Prairie, (902) Halifax, (905) Hamilton, (613) Kanata, (250) Kelowna,
    (613) Kingston, (519) Kitchener, (519) London, (514) Montreal,
    (289) Oakville, (613) Ottawa, (418) Quebec City, (403) Red Deer,
    (604) Richmond, (905) St Catherines, (905) Thornhill, (647) Toronto,
    (905) Unionville, (778) Vancouver, (604) Vancouver, (250) Victoria,
    (604) Whalley, (519) Windsor, (204) Winnipeg.

    You will be giving a SIP-Domain and a Username & Password
    that you will enter into X-lite once you have signed up.

    ATTENTION: WE DO NOT SELL MAGIC JACKS NOR DO WE HAVE ANYTHING TO DO
    WITH OR ANY PARTNERSHIPS WITH YMAX.CORP, MAGICJACK.LP OR THEMAGICJACK.CA.INC.Copyrighted © 2008. Canadianmagicjack.ltd. All Rights Reserved.
    from the looks of this site use discression as they are not affiliated with MagicJack or YMAX corp

  51. Posted September 28, 2008 at 1:34 am | Permalink

    Last paragraph added by the editor of Beartracks

  52. Posted September 28, 2008 at 3:49 am | Permalink

    From the looks of this site use discression as they are not affiliated with MagicJack or YMAX corp.
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

    This is the owner of Canadianmagicjack.ca and .com.

    To see a video of how this will work go to:

    http://canadianmagicjack.ca/CanadianMagicJack.html

    You don’t have to use your “discression” as we will give you a 24 hour free trail.

    That will be seen on the site in the next month or so…but to hold true to my word…anyone who see this or says “beartracks” in a email to me.

    I will give you a “Free 24 hour” trial today as of today date.

    Cheers

  53. Posted September 28, 2008 at 3:58 am | Permalink

    My Email: nadams@canadianmagicjack.ca

  54. Posted September 28, 2008 at 5:02 am | Permalink

    @Neil: I contacted a service rep via MJ Chat and asked if this is associated with MJ to which they replied NO, Canadianmagicjack.ca and .com. has no affiliation. Also this message is at the bottom of Canadianmagicjack.ca and .com website:
    ATTENTION: WE DO NOT SELL MAGIC JACKS NOR DO WE HAVE ANYTHING TO DO
    WITH OR ANY PARTNERSHIPS WITH YMAX.CORP, MAGICJACK.LP OR THEMAGICJACK.CA.INC.Copyrighted

    So let the buyer beware!!!

  55. Posted September 28, 2008 at 11:53 pm | Permalink

    Ok let your buyers beware.

    It was Canadianmagicjack.ca that put that notice on our site in the first place.

    ATTENTION: WE DO NOT SELL MAGIC JACKS NOR DO WE HAVE ANYTHING TO DO
    WITH OR ANY PARTNERSHIPS WITH YMAX.CORP, MAGICJACK.LP OR THEMAGICJACK.CA.INC.Copyrighted © 2008. Canadianmagicjack.ltd. All Rights Reserved

    I hold true to my words Above!

    Cheers

    Beartracks!

  56. Posted September 28, 2008 at 11:58 pm | Permalink

    P.S. We never once said we were partners with Magic Jack.

    We don’t even sell Magic Jacks just Canadian numbers that’s it that’s all.

  57. Richard Hill
    Posted November 17, 2008 at 2:47 am | Permalink

    We ordered our magic jack in the last week of October, and received it November 10th, taking almost 2 weeks to ship. What really sucks is that the free month of trial begins the day it is ordered. That gives me 2 weeks to try it. So far its been ok, a few minor hiccups with the computer, but the device performs reliably. A big concern for me is if the device dies after you pay for 4 years of service, do you loose out those 4 years or will they let you buy another one and transfer the good one to the existing account? I did have an opportunity to try the online support twice. The online support is marginally unsatisfactory. Both times, I asked a question to be answered with “So what is the problem?”. I use mine for traveling across the country, and make all my calls from the hotels that I stay at. I have set up a bluetooth adapter to my laptop and just use my bluetooth headset with the device with no analog phone plugged in the device. I was told this wasn’t supported, but after I told them I am doing it and it works, but I was hoping that they could make a few application changes to eliminate a few problems, they indicated that this was above their heads and that they wanted me to give them details on what I did.

    Anyways, even though I am sketical, being an ex-Sunrocket customer and now a ViaTalk customer, I wouldn’t recommend buying more than a year at a time. If the company defunks, or the device defunks, or even you move to a new location, you will probably be out the future service. The voice quality is outstanding, compares with any VOIP service. If you have a residential POTS line and a cell phone, this would be ideal, otherwise, you are just waisting your money on POTS.

    With other VOIP services, you are paying additional charges for 911 services, Magic Jack is doing it for free now, but will this continue? ViaTalk starting charging us 911 service fees (over $3) monthly after we were a year in a 2 year contract.

    Magic Jack doesn’t work with dial up.

    It doesn’t make sense to have DSL and use magic jack.

    Always have an alternate way of calling if you have magic jack. (ie cell phone, POTS, etc…)

    Magic Jack is as simple to install as the commercial says it is; as long as you have an operational computer that is bug and virus free.

    my 2 cents…

  58. Posted November 18, 2008 at 4:52 am | Permalink

    ***Faxing update***
    I did not have success in faxing using MJ! Several sources I have faxed to have told me they did not recieve complete faxes even though I had a printed fax report which said the fax was a success.
    MJ’s site says to adjust some settings but I will not continue to try.
    If anyone has had success please leave a message.

  59. topsider
    Posted December 5, 2008 at 12:59 am | Permalink

    Using MJ for 7 weeks. Am so pleased – l my 3 children will be getting one for Christmas.
    I live in Canada and there is no good reason to have a Canadian “home” number” for an extra charge. Have called Australia, UK, New Zealand and across Canada and the USA – signals have been “clear as a bell”. BEST gadget I’ve bought in the last 50 + years. Frankly, for me it’s been a “no-brainer”.
    TIP: Be patient on the install !

  60. Posted December 18, 2008 at 3:06 pm | Permalink

    Yes, you are right. MagicJack does have some flaws: you have to have computer on, sometimes is less than good quality, bad customer service, et al. BUT, they are a new company. Was the Model T perfect when it was invented? If you still want a magicjack, you can save big buying at http://www.buymagicjackcheap.com I saved almost $10 and no hassles with MJs customer service…

  61. Posted January 3, 2009 at 9:15 am | Permalink

    Magic Jack has been working very well recently. This device was useful to other people and well-appreciated.

    Keep letting us know how it’s doing, thanks.

  62. BILLYJOEBIGDADDY
    Posted January 10, 2009 at 1:11 am | Permalink

    Hello just wanted to chime in here. I bought the Magic Jack flash drive in June of 2008. When I first got it it worked only sometimes. My wife’s cell phone would not even ring through to it. I left it hooked up for a month with the same results. The 30 day free trial had passed and I took the Jack out of my pc and tossed it in a drawer feeling snookered but a little smarter.
    Fast forward 6 months. I was cleaning out my drawer and found the Jack and said to myself “may as well try it again”. I hooked it back into my PC and it downloaded the software just like it had before. All of my contacts were still there. I have used it now for 2 weeks and it has worked every single time. My wife’s cell phone(same one) rings through just fine. I will renew my contract in June because it has been great.
    I think what is happening to these people who are not happy with Magic Jack is that the number being given is not a working number as far as the rest of the world is concerned. But after a few months it becomes established and all phone companies and carriers know to ring it through.
    Just my dealings with this device. Sheer anger at first but very happy later…thanks

  63. Joe Campbell
    Posted March 10, 2009 at 4:41 pm | Permalink

    I LOVE MY MAGIC JACK IT SAVES ME ABOUT 150 DOLLARS A MONTH I COULD NOT BE HAPPIER

  64. Joe Campbell
    Posted March 10, 2009 at 6:06 pm | Permalink

    TO MY OTHER COMMENT TO SAVE MONEY IS TO MAKE MONEY AND WITH MAGIC JACK THAT IS WHAT YOU DO SO WHY WOULD ANYONE NOT WANT TO TRY IT OUT IT IS THE BEST

  65. David
    Posted April 9, 2009 at 1:20 am | Permalink

    I purchased MJ about a month ago. Anyone having trouble making local calls should try to use the area code plus the phone number anyway at first I also had the same problem( would not make local calls). After contacting techsupport they suggested adding the area code along with the phone number even though it’s a local number, it worked.

    I have been very happy with the MJ and will continue to use it .

  66. Sam Wild
    Posted April 30, 2009 at 7:04 pm | Permalink

    Very interesting thread. Beartracks, thanks for all the confirmations on how the system works, should work, or doesn’t work. I just started my 30 days trial and have been very impressed thus far. Only concern is the delay in dial tone when my computer is in slumber mode. Any ideas on how to correct this issue?

  67. Posted May 9, 2009 at 1:50 am | Permalink

    Don’t allow the computer to enter slumber mode. Honestly, I would think MJ would also have to wake up from slumber mode. No ideas as of yet!

  68. block head
    Posted May 13, 2009 at 11:37 am | Permalink

    MJ LOOSING CONNECTION — MJ VOICE VOLUME UP AND DOWN:

    Contacted MJ Technical Support online. They helped me to “Refresh the Settings” and “Add DNS address for MJ connection”.

    Can not explaine the process but support was patient in communicating the assist. Since it was late at night, I only made one call after the Tech Chat and it went well.

    Hope this solves the issue.

  69. Tricia
    Posted June 13, 2009 at 11:57 pm | Permalink

    Does anyone know if there is a way to hook the mj up to a router, so I don’t have to leave the computer on all the time?? Get a USB hub, and plug that into router, phone into MJ… has anyone tried this yet?

    Right now I have it directly plugged into my computer, which isn’t a big deal, I’m just worried about burning it out from it being on all the time. I’m a photographer and can’t be without my computer!!

    Thanks

  70. Posted June 16, 2009 at 7:23 am | Permalink

    I don’t think so but I have not tried it either. If you need to turn off your computer have MJ forward to your cell phone.

  71. Kelly Conway
    Posted June 19, 2009 at 3:44 pm | Permalink

    Hi there, the “Do Not Disturb” buttom in not in the menu and it use to be under the “ready to call” but now I cant find it anywhere. Did I disable it or something?

    Thank you

  72. Steve
    Posted July 6, 2009 at 7:07 pm | Permalink

    I am thinking of getting the MJ for home and for vaction travel. My question is if I was to buy a router that have a USB port like the (Belkin N #F5D8235-4 or Linksys Daul Band N #WRT610N), Will I be able to use the MJ even if my computer is off so long as the router still conected to net?

  73. Posted July 28, 2009 at 12:32 am | Permalink

    Missed another call because the MJ voicemail hijacks the incoming calls. The “rep” told me over a year ago that their “engineers” were working on the problem. If there really was an “engineer” working on the problem, it could be fixed in a few minutes by altering their software. They are liars.

  74. todd
    Posted August 4, 2009 at 4:43 am | Permalink

    I have had the mj for 6 months. ive had it pluged into the belkin wireless usb hub plugged into my linksys wireless router….. worked great until their last software update. yes you have to have your comp. up and running. I can plug mj directly into my comp. and it works. but when plugged into the usb hub, the hub recognizes it, and mj trys to start only to get a message that mj needs to be plugged into a usb port. if any one has any ideas please!!!!! let me know….. spent the initial fee and 1 month later bought the additional 5 years:(((((

  75. todd
    Posted August 4, 2009 at 4:44 am | Permalink

    and yes ive done the “reformat of the mj”

  76. Posted August 5, 2009 at 9:06 pm | Permalink

    IDK, try a powered USB.

  77. Posted August 12, 2009 at 11:01 am | Permalink

    @Todd Try uninstalling and reinstalling MJ w/o the update or rollback the MJ drivers.

  78. Jan
    Posted August 20, 2009 at 12:10 am | Permalink

    As of today (August 19) Magic Jack blocking my dialing to connect with Free Conference Call.com. When I dial any of the phone numbers to connect with the conference service I get a recording from Magic Jack telling me that they are not allowing calls to those numbers and if I want to conference through Magic Jack I have to use the Magic Jack conference service. Since when does Magic Jack get to determine what phone number I can dial to or not? Shades of 1984. This is ridiculous. Unless they rescind this ludicrous policy, I will not recommend Magic Jack to my friends and colleagues.

  79. Posted August 22, 2009 at 1:41 am | Permalink

    At some time MJ will have compatibility issues. I happen to be a beta tester for Windows 7. Currently MJ is not compatible with Windows 7. Fortunately WIndows 7 allows you to switch to another version. Just right click and select properties, compatabily, then select to proper Windows version. I found that running as Vista SP1 works for me. I had to try a couple to find one which worked.

  80. shinuak
    Posted September 10, 2009 at 11:34 am | Permalink

    I was using vonage and recently started using magic jack, for me MJ works absolutely fine and I get better voice quality with it when compared to vonage. The best value add though is its portability and low cost when compared to vonage. Overall a great product.

  81. Posted November 7, 2009 at 7:04 am | Permalink

    Thx, this has definitely made my day!

    _______________________
    wtf

  82. MIA
    Posted December 8, 2009 at 3:58 pm | Permalink

    I just got my MJ installed and I want to know if I can block the 911 calls button, my kids use the computer and I just want to assure that they’re not calling (accidentally or on purpose, or just for curiosity) ’cause I don’t want police on my house for nothing.

    Please, help!!

  83. ali
    Posted April 5, 2010 at 1:02 am | Permalink

    Hey thanx a lot for the information…this website is rocking…i lov it

  84. Lena
    Posted June 18, 2011 at 8:05 pm | Permalink

    Callers to my Magicjack are getting voicmail even when I am sitting beside it. I dont hear it ring. I am using a 3G card and the computer speaker. I can call out

  85. Posted July 8, 2011 at 2:15 am | Permalink

    Lena, The first thing you should check is the menu on your softphone screen to make sure that “Do Not Disturb” has not been enabled. To do this click on the Menu button on your softphone screen. A drop-down menu will then appear, with different options . Look to see if there is a check mark by the Do Not Disturb option. If there is, then click it again to make the check mark go away and then your phone should ring.

    If you don’t have Do Not Disturb enabled and have tried the above, then try a different phone to see if perhaps the phone you were using won’t ring with Magic Jack. Any regular landline phone should work, you don’t need to buy a special phone. Also, make sure that your phone cord that is plugged into your MJ device is not more than six feet long.

    Also, you do need to disconnect your magicJack once a month. All you have to do is unplug the device, reboot your computer and then plug the device back into the USB port on your computer. This keeps your magic jack working well. The other day I had a problem with my MJ turning off and on. It did this several times before I realized that I hadn’t done my “maintenance” by unplugging the device. I did that, and it’s been working perfectly ever since. I’m going to put a reminder for the first of every month to do this so I don’t have to stop and unplug and reboot when I need to make a phone call.

    If none of the above suggestions work and your phone still does not ring when you have incoming calls, then talk to a customer care person at the Magic Jack website:

    http://www.magicjack.com/9/customercare.asp

  86. Posted December 25, 2012 at 10:51 am | Permalink

    Way cool! Some very valid points! I appreciate you penning this post plus the rest of the website is extremely good.

  87. Posted April 6, 2013 at 3:35 pm | Permalink

    Greetings from Colorado! I’m bored at work so I decided to check out your blog on my iphone during lunch break. I really like the knowledge you provide here and can’t wait to
    take a look when I get home. I’m amazed at how fast your blog loaded on my cell phone .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .
    . Anyways, wonderful site!


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

