I should have known better! Nice try…not on my computer

 If you use an instant messenger to communicate do not accept file unless you absolutely know the person is sending them.  The following tried to gain access through Windows Live Messenger.  I received this message “OMG, i found ur pic on cuteornot.com! im not kidding either!!!” in an instant message claiming to be from a friend.  I should have known better. 

The first clue was my from my firewall Sunbelt Kerio which alerted me that a program was attempting to gain access to the internet.  I checked my firewall for any changes and halted two programs.  I had received an update for my Avast antivirus program which needed to reboot.  During the reboot Sunbelt CounterSpy forced a scan and caught the trojan and placed it in quarentine where I deleated the trojan file.

Trojan-Proxy.Win32.Lager.gen

Type: Backdoor

Description: Trojan-Proxy.Win32.Lager.gen is an application that creates a backdoor on the infected machine which is used by attackers to perform malicious activities.

Advice: This is a severe risk and should be removed immediately as it may completely compromise your privacy and security by allowing an attacker to remotely control your machine, exploit it for illicit purposes, and make dangerous changes to your computer without your knowledge and consent.

2 Comments

  1. Posted December 13, 2007 at 12:55 am | Permalink

    They are getting sneaky aren’t they?

  2. Kodiak
    Posted December 13, 2007 at 4:16 am | Permalink

    Yes they are.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

