Life is precious

Life is so fragile! One moment you can be playing and running around the house with your cat and the next moment the cat runs under your feet and gets stepped on. This is what happened last night. Shadow (cat) was injured and was vomiting and bleeding from her rectum. We kept her under observation all night. This morning She still was not better so we took her to the vet. Xrays showed internal bleeding and possible ruptured bladder. The vet performed a stomach puncture to verify the results. Sure enough blood and urine spewed into the syringe. The vet said there was nothing she could do. I had to call my family to give the bad news. With tears streaming down my cheeks, I told my daughter and said there is nothing that can be done except put the cat out of her missery, she had suffered long enough. The vet asked if I wanted to leave the cat or to stay. I decided to stay and say my goodbye. It was hard. I left the vets office with a very sad heart.

During that year of knowing Shadow, she made us laugh and now cry. Loosing a cat is nothing like loosing a child, a family member or a wife but our pets become part of the family and we still need to mourn the loss. The pain won’t be as bad because it’s not a human life, but the pain is real none the less. Shadow came  into our lives for only a short time. Goodbye Shadow, we’ll miss you.

Life is precious so make sure you tell your loved ones you love them and give them a hug and kiss them often.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

